Monday, 3 November 2008

clear out...

I'm not sure if the novel is going to get past page 4. However, it has given me the push to clear out a lot of stuff that I have been holding on to. I feel ...hmmm not sure what the word is, confused, fuzzy, thick headed, stressed when I have lots of STUFF around. We moved here over a year ago and still have boxes to unpack, so I am throwing them all away. I made two trips to the dump today with the car filled up and tomorrow I am going to do more. xx

Saturday, 1 November 2008

007...

Today was the day dun dun dun. It is the first day of nation novel writing month and the first chance we had to see the new james bond (well it only came out yesterday). I made an early start on the narvel darling without much more than the first line in my head.Anyhoo I have managed to get 1670 words on paper (well in a word doc) and the min per day to keep up is 1666 so I have 4 words in hand for tomorrow.

Bond was fab, I make no apologies for not understanding the storyline and the sound system in number one screen was dire but oh the action was fab. Daniel Craig just gets better and better. I was dubious at first a "blond Bond" didnt really float my boat, I have always fancied SC as the best Bond BUT DC has my vote now.

Tomorrow is the lat day of the school holidays and I have a shed load of ironing to do and a slow roast belly of pork to cook mmmmmm. Good job I am 4 words into Sundays total, I'm going to need a head start. xx

Friday, 31 October 2008

2 days...

Yesterday we went to London (to buy heat magazine) haha .... actually that was probably the only thing we didn't do. We left here in the dark and got back in the dark. I saw Nan G and spent a few hours with L & N. They crack me up, we laughed a lot (mostly at each other) and the children played really well together.

We spent today getting ready for Halloween. We decorated the house and each other, with coloured hair spray and face paints. Then we went out trick or treating when it got dark. It gets very dark here, the street lights are few and far between so we took a torch.

Tomorrow we are going to see Quantum of Solace and I have to start my narvel darling. xx

Wednesday, 29 October 2008

Working...

I have actually done some work - well typing for J. He spends days on quotes and I knock out the typing in 30 mins flat. It hardly seems fair but thats the way it is. We are off to London tomorrow to have lunch with friends and as usual I am trying to cram in more visits than we have time for. I actually have a set time limit tomorrow as we are droping J off at work and bringing him home. It saves us both making the same journey within an hour of each other but also means I have to be ready to leave the house @ 7a.m. I had better get organised. nn xx

Oh my...

wasn't I a bundle of joy yesterday! Much better today. I took the Boys into Kings Lynn and we ended up at the cinema watching IGOR.

Tuesday, 28 October 2008

hmmmm...

I can feel my mood going down and I'm not sure why. I had a bad bout of depression some years ago and am constantly looking for the signs of its return. I need to keep some sort of order and control to keep it away. It has just occurred to me that this is why I re-organised the freezers this morning! I also have big plans for next week re. the cupboard at the top of the stairs.

I spoke for a long time to my good friend N today. She has an awful situation at home at the moment and is not sure how to deal with it. Its very hard to give advise when you have never been faced with a particular problem but I try to be supportive and give a point of view if it is asked for.

I need to get dressed. xx

Sunday, 26 October 2008

She told me...

never to breed with him. J has just asked if, now that the clocks have changed, will he not be so tired in the morning? xx

Very busy...

After being woken up at the crack of dawn (well 8am) by well meaning FIL and the boys coming in and out with questions that precluded any other "activity" I finally got going on my day. There was only a smidge of water left in the ceiling! So today I have finalised plans for this week.
Mon-Iron Man
Tue- Mums
Wed- chilling
Thu-London
Fri- Halloween

I am giving a lot of thought to the "novel". I have an idea but I am really not sure how it will work out. Its going to be a bit "suck it and see".
This afternoon I have set up a chat room the link is at the bottom of this page and I'm dead impressed with it. xx

Saturday, 25 October 2008

Odd day...

Today has been a bit of an odd un. We slept late and then a neighbour came in for coffee while we still had out nightclothes on, obviously the done thing here as soon after he left a friend of the boys came in too. No one mentions your state of undress or offers to come back later! Then we realised that the immersion had packed up again grrrr so instead of taking the children out for lunch as we had promised they had take-away pizza so J could fix the water. DS1 went to play with a friend but while we were out I noticed that he has an odd dent in his lower eye lid. I must make a Drs appointment for him on Monday. When we came home from the pizza/screwfix run the immersion had been leaking through the kitchen ceiling, its a good job that DS3 loves a mop! The boys are all asleep in DS2s room tonight, they call it a sleep-over. I finally took my wedding ring off today, its been too big for a while and I'm afraid I will lose it. The one I have put on says "well behaved women" on the outside and "never make history" on the inside. xx

Friday, 24 October 2008

Today...

I have dyed my hair back to blond but its still brown...whats that all about??? This evening I am cooking for the weekend.

Things on the go

slow roast pork belly
keema
bolognaise sauce
passata
cannelli beans

Things still to cook

celeriac dauph
veg for dinner tonight

Thursday, 23 October 2008

Feels like a Friday...

Its the last day of school before the half term and really feels like a Friday. The clocks go back on Sunday so I have gained 25 extra hours this weekend!!!

Things I have eaten today that I shouldn't
6 malteasers
a square of galaxy
the chocolate from 3 mini magnums (see a theme?)
a mini snickers

Wednesday, 22 October 2008

Preparing for half term...

The Boys break up from school tomorrow afternoon for 10 days. I really need to fill the freezers & cupboards so that a shopping trip is not required while they are off. I have caught up with the washing/ironing/cleaning but the recycling needs doing hmmmm.

Jobs 4 today
buy DS1 a sleeveless puffa
food shopping
recycling

Tuesday, 21 October 2008

Feeling ick...

I have been on *whispers* a diet for the last 9 months and now I'm coming to the last phase I am starting to introduce food that I haven't eaten in a while. Well I can tell you that wholemeal bread has been crossed off the list along with cake and strawberries. I wanted to go and look for new black jeans today but there is little point as the ones that were too big yesterday fit fine today due to the bloating!

A quick update on the weekend.... DS1 is out of HSM, he got a part in the chorus as the full auditions were a couple of weeks ago and there were no acting parts left. He has decided not to take it as there was way too many boys in mascara for a Sunday for his liking.

DS3 is a work in progress. I had a meeting with his teacher on Friday (he is dyslexic) to update his IEP. One of the items on the list -nay the first item on the list- was his lack of confidence that comes out as a need to hide from any/all attention. He has been speaking to the teacher from under the table or up his jumper lately and this is quite off putting for the class, NO, REALLY??? So, we have had a few long chats about this over the weekend and I have explained that the way he deals with the attention just gets him more attention. He has promised to moderate his behaviour and I have promised to buy something that he wants on Friday if he can keep it up. I will check in with the Teacher every day to see how he has been. He got a really good report from her yesterday and lots of praise from us. Fingers crossed.

Monday, 20 October 2008

A happy side effect...

of the immersion breaking was that the heating had to go on and now its staying on!

Sunday, 19 October 2008

Good weekend

Seeing our family in London yesterday was fab. My Nan was very well. We saw our good friends K&S and D for a couple of hours before driving home. J ordered dinner and we collected it on the way thru town. Today I have been back into Lynn with DS3 to change the football gloves for a bigger size and to buy the bits so that J can fix the immersion heater. We had a luke warm bath this morning but needs must. DS1 is at his first rehearsal for the christmas production today and DS2 is out playing with friends. I am having todays off from my quest to be yummy because its sunday although I do have lippy on. x

Friday, 17 October 2008

The weekend looms...

I have decided I will go and see my Nan in London tomorrow. She is 90 and I love her to bits. She has phoned me twice tonight looking for my cousin (she pushed the wrong button on the phone) dozy bird. I wonder if any children will want to come?

DS1 has rehersals for the school christmas production on Sunday. They are doing High School Musical. They all used to go to theatre school when we lived in London but that was last year so he might be a bit rusty.

J asked me to buy different washing up liquid because the one we have doesn't make bubbles, I calmly told him that what he was using was rinse aid.

Things that I miss about London...

Seeing my Nan on a Wednesday and putting the world to rights
Talking tosh with Lindz on a Thursday and maybe watching a film or just perching
Having a straight fringe
Going out on a Saturday on the tube and being in the city in 30 mins
Having my DH home in daylight
Having my bins collected every week not once a fortnight

Things I like about BFN...

No traffic wardens mean you can park anywhere you like (even on double yellows)
No parking charges in the multi-storey
No rush hour
The locals make me look good
I don't have friends here
We have a real fire and a stable door
We have room and air
I can see the stars from my doorstep and the moon from my lounge window
We have a fantastic park and a hospital within walking distance (both good when you have children)
I can walk into town in 10 mins and go to proper shops not just the Spar
Kids don't stab kids here

Lunch

I have had my lunch after a morning of slaving. All my chores are done, even the bathroom window frames (and the bedroom ones). I am putting off hoovering DS2s bedroom untill my nerves are better! I have also cleaned out my wardrobe - OMG, I have some big gaps in there now and I hate clothes shopping. Never mind could be worse. I have to see DS3s Teacher this afternoon I'm not sure who is more afeared DS3 or Me.

Exercise...

I have a lateral thigh trainer. hmmmm. Brenda makes it look so easy on the advert and do you know what? it SO not. I did 2 mins and I'm knackered. This is really not good enough. Must try harder.

Aims for today...

tidy the house
shopping/plan meals for the weekend
washing/drying/ironing
clean the bathroom window frames (maybe)

Questions for today...

How yummy can one be without having had a wash? (Am I slipping into scummy territory?)
Does a facial wipe count as a facial?
If I stop wearing make-up and start on the Q10 cream will I look younger by spring?
Is this an acceptable trade off? no make-up makes me look old and scares the children.
Can you wear half an inch of Q10 cream under true matt minerals?
What about night cream? Is this middle-aged? or do I just have to come to terms with how old I am?
Is this my last chance to have the body I have always wanted?
All serious questions this morning. I'm not entirely sure where they all came from.

Thursday, 16 October 2008

Cold water hrmph...

The immersion heater won't work on the only day J has left his tools at work. Brrrrr is the current temperature of the hot water! We chose Ghost Rider to watch but it wouldn't play so we changed it to The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen and that packed up. I went up to run a bath and no hot water so its SNAFU. Is this my punishment for trying to change the universe??

Night off

This blogging lark is fab! I have done everything on my list and dinner is on and its only 5pm woo-flipping-hoo. The sprogs have all done their homework and after dinner I am going to put on lip gloss and we are going to watch a film (ahhhh). Hmmm, I wonder if there is any popping corn in the larder?

What is yummy? (apart from chocolate)

Well according to my initial scour of the internet a yummy mummy is "confused and exhausted". Not entirely sure what they are exhausted by but I am certainly confused. So, I'm halfway there- result!
However, I also have a few ideas of where I'm going wrong.
1. Yummies would not have a baby wood pigeon living in the utility room.
2. Yummies would probably not eat breakfast with their jacket on.
3. Yummies definately separate the washing into lights & darks.
4. Yummies probably empty the bin before the rubbish is up to the top of the lid.

Today I will be mostly......

Today I will be mostly researching.

1. What is a yummy mummy? is it the same as a WAG but with kids?
2. How yummy do you need to be to qualify?
3. Do I have to have "staff"?

also, things to do:

1. get photo printed for DS1
2. post office with letters from yesterday
3. ironing
4. eat breakfast!

Stride panic

There was just one small trauma this morning. I have a pair of black trousers that fit really well straight out of the tumble dryer but get a bit big with wearing. I tried to put them on this morning and had such a struggle. OMG I am never eating dark choc mini magnums again (sob). I finally got them on and put my hand down to do them up.....yep, I had obviously taken them off without undoing them, so, woohoo, mini magnums are back on the menu.

Hope?

Good morning Lilly, I was only 2 damp tee shirts, a beer can on the side of the bath and a missing earring away from perfection this morning. Actually thats quite a lot BUT an achievement for me. This means that I am quite calm despite the mini riot going on above my head because DS2 wont get out of the bath and DS1 needs to clean his teeth. I think DS3 is playing football up there. I have tried to persuade the boys to have hot dinners so I don't have to make lunches but no joy I'm afraid. So,off to pack lunch boxes (if I was really slummy I would just give them a packet of biscuites each but we don't have any, so there is hope for me yet).

Wednesday, 15 October 2008

NN xx

Ok, its getting on for bedtime and the list is nearly done. Just the ironing is to be carried over until tomorrow. NN xx

Dry child...

I was sitting in the car this morning with DS3 and a lady walked along with a small animal cage with a bow on it,
I said "oooh look, someone is getting a hamster or a gerbil or a mouse"
He said "or a cage"

Thats it...

I am doing really well on the list BUT its getting late and I still have a curry & bhajis to make and DS2 is helping out at school tonight and he needs to be there by 7pm eeek!! What to do? spend another 10 mins wittering on here I suppose (always did work better with a deadline).

things I have done today:

Hmm turned the PC on
housewifely duties
collected bird food
bought DS2 trainers & DS3 football gloves & DS1 eucerin cream (thanks Bunty)
eaten 2 dark choc magnum minis (oops, not entirely sure how that happened)
ermmm thats it. xx

Things I have learnt...

1. Just because pigeon poo looks solid it can still be squishy. Do not try to hoover it up.

One off .the list..

Housewifely duties... tick

That list won't do itself...

Right its 1pm and I'm still here. Loved Fern & Phil except the poor lady with the spike up her bum - it was a lot funnier when Blackadder said it- no baby eating bishop of bath and wells for her! The dish washer is empty again (not that I let it pile up or anything), hurrah but I now have to drive to Lynn to collect bird food, bah! have also remembered a few more things for the list

collect bird food
buy material for ski hat
get photo developed for DS1
housewifely duties
ironing

Oh and now it raining. xx

Still faffing???

Ok. Its one o'clock and I'm still sitting here. The dishwasher is now empty hurrah but I have had a call to say the bird food is ready tocollect from Kings Lynn so thats another thing to add to the list.



2 x letters

First things first...

To do today:

2 x letters to Mr R
Ironing
General housewifely duties

Its 11am and I have done eff all. Actually thats not true, I have set up this blog site so I now have a valid excuse to have been sitting here for 2 hours even though it only took 30 mins. Hmmmm. Right, I'm off to put on the P.C I have written the letters in my head and now just need to get them on paper. bbs xx.